OFL Hall of Fame

This hallowed Ring of Honor includes the following players who added greatness to the league with their enthusiasm and dedication.

Class of 1996

The Big Tree On Oxford Street (inducted in 1996): First star defensive player of the then MCZFL. More batted balls than any other player (or other inanimate object) in league history.

Class of 1997

Mac "Crazy Legs" Stanfield (inducted 1997): revolutionized the game with cunning offensive strategy.

Class of 1998

Stephanie Bowers (inducted in 1998): revolutionized the art of whining about Ronnie and later Rick. However, she single-handedly won games as both quarterback and receiver.

Victoria Van Cleef (inducted in 1998): revolutionized the art of holding and counting to "five Mississippi" incredibly fast. Second on the all time sack list at the time of her retirement.

Mike Dyer (inducted in 1998): revolutionized the art of trying to get away from Victoria and the use of ridiculously skimpy outfits on freezing January mornings. Was first on the all-time touchdown list at the time of his retirement.

Class of 1999

Peter Niemeyer (inducted in 1999): A dedicated player who was able to fill in at a number of roles: receiver, quarterback, and pass rusher. He mastered the no look pass and was one of three players who survived the utterly insane conditions of the "Hurricane Of Death Game" of 1997.

Class of 2000

Jeff Bellerose (inducted in 2000): Absolutely dominated all receiving categories for two seasons, smashed all receiving records, forcing major changes in the OFL rule book. One of the most feared offensive players in the history of professional football, despite being an unusually nice fellow.

Class of 2002

Al Janik "The Chicago Kid" (inducted in 2002): While he did not log as much playing time as some others in this Ring of Honor, he was certainly one of the most entertaining players in the history of the league (and there's something to be said for entertainment.) "The Kid" gave us probably the most hilarious (and heads-up) play in the history of football -- an outrunning/outskating/outfoxing of his opponent on a large patch of ice in a late December thriller. While he also gave us perhaps the stupidest injury in all of sports (a career ending hamstring tear while trying to advance an incomplete pass -- as a sub from the sidelines), he otherwise played doggedly and with grace, wits, and ultimately with as much "football soul" as anyone this Commissioner has ever seen play the game.

Class of 2006

Ronnie Broadfoot (inducted in 2006): Ronnie became the first ever player to be inducted while still technically active. Besides the Commissioner, Ronnie at the time of his retirement was the longest-playing original player (from year one of the OFL). A multi-award player over the years, Ronnie stoically survived the most horrendous of weather and playing conditions, including the Hurricane of Death game. Following in the glorious tradition of Texas-bred football players he played with passion and skill and loyalty to the league, and remained true Black and Gold throughout - filling whatever role his team needs him to and doing it well to boot.

Class of 2009

Dan Morgan (inducted in 2009): Dan was often the primary defender facing Jeff Bellerose, and the two dog-fighted for a number of seasons, providing some absolutely classic battles. Dan was certainly one of the more gifted athletes of his day and played with heart and soul and cheer, and was often the first guy to throw himself into a mud puddle. He remains an active enthusiast of OFL football, albeit from afar.

Class of 2010

Bryan Devereaux (inducted in 2010): Bryan was easily the most dominant player in the league for almost a decade (2000 to 2008), breaking all and any offensive and defensive records. Bryan was capable of anything as a receiver, defender, pass rush, kicker, even quarterback, en route to countless game MVP awards, a Super Bowl MVP award, and three Player of the Year Awards. He recovered from a dangerous blood infection in 2006, only to return the following year to take the Player of the Year Award once again. All the while Bryan was modest in his accomplishments and truly a great teammate.

Kevin Nangle (inducted in 2010): Kevin was a model OFL player in a career which spanned ten years or so. He played tough gritty ball at any position asked of him, throwing himself all over the field. Indeed, he was Player of the Year in 2004/2005 primarily for his contributions in pass rush and pass blocking, the first ever such player awarded for primarily those contributions. A super sportsman and gentleman, Kevin shoe's will likely not be filled again, the old goat.

Andy Foley (inducted in 2010): Andy was a top receiver and pass defender for many years, winning countless MVP game balls and accolades. He performed with dignity and distinction, in the best tradition of a great yet modest athlete. Andy is missed.

Aaron Smith (inducted in 2010): The larger-than-life number 10 was an OFL mainstay for close to a decade. Known as a premier quarterback but also pass rusher, Aaron was astonishingly agile and elusive, gliding out of the pocket to find a downfield receiver or to scamper for a gain. Not sure how he did it, but just know he did.

Conor Nagle (inducted in 2010): Despite the howls of protests from thousands of outraged fans, the Hall of Fame committee decided to add Conor to the OFL Ring of Honor. Conor was a new-comer to the game of American football when he arrived to these shores in the 90's. After weaseling his way into the OFL he somehow proceeded to be a good enough athlete and good enough teammate to shine - which he admittedly did for almost a decade. I kid. Sort of. Actually Conor was a beast. Ok, and a very nice guy and a gentleman, and has a great sense of humor. Bastard.

Class of 2013

Randy Lee Jr (inducted in 2013): Randy was an outstanding football player and was truly commited to playing football in any and all conditions, year after year. He could easily take over a game either on offense as a receiver or as a quarterback, or on defense, often as safety but also as a pass rusher. His open-field blocks were devasting. His commitment to playing was extraordinary. Indeed, while he passed away from stage-four cancer in early 2013, he had played throughout the season, never letting on anything was wrong. His passing was deeply felt in our community. The Player of the Year award has been renamed in his honor.

Class of 2016

Rick Roth (inducted in 2016): Rick was the consumate warrior. He played OFL for eleven years, retiring at the age of 61. Rick was a multiple game MVP, Superbowl XII MVP, a Tough as Nails award winner, and the Randy Lee Jr Player of the Year for the 2015/2016 season. Rick was outstanding at the quarterbacking position but also excelled at pass rushing and defending at the corner. He survived a number of broken bones playing—including his neck(!)—but returned year after year, performing at the highest levels, until a head injury forced him to retire at age 61.